Sunday Services Archive – 2015

2015 Sunday Services

Some of our services are available as MP3 or other audio files, a few as video recordings, and others as PDF files of the sermon/reflection only. Please note that all content (visual, textual, audio) is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No derivative works license.

You are free to share – to copy, distribute and transmit the work – under the following conditions:

With the understanding that:

December 2015

Sunday, December 6 – Holiday Music Extravaganza – TBA

Sunday, December 13 – In the Crosshairs: Living in Dangerous Times (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, December 20 – Fear Not! (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, December 27 – Let It Go (Pastor Kris Cervantes) – TBA

November 2015

Sunday, November 8: The End Will Be Peace (Elizabeth Mong, Guest Speaker)

Sunday, November 15: The Chains We Choose (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday November 22: Imagine a Wonderful World (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, November 29: Absolutely Nothing (Say It Again) (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

October 2015

Sunday, October 25: Politics & Religion (Pastor Kris Cervantes) – TBA

Sunday, October 18: How Sweet It Is (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, October 11, 2015: Lobbying Lessons (Juliana Kunz, Citizens Climate Lobby)

Sunday, October 4, 2015: Jesus: I’m a Fan (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

September 2015

Sunday, September 27, 2015: Wearing Out These Old Shoes (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, September 20, 2015: Thoreauvian Sauntering with Coffee (Guest Speaker Dr. Chris Van Gorder, Baylor University)

Sunday, September 13, 2015: Water Communion – (Pastor Kris Cervantes) – TBA

Sunday, September 6, 2015: Centering Ourselves for Transformation (Six Sources Series, part 6) – (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

August 2015

Sunday, August 30, 2015: Humanist Harmonies (Six Sources Series, part 5) – (Pastor Kris Cervantes & Jim McKeown, Humanist Celebrant)

Sunday, August 23, 2015: Dwellers in the House of Uncertainty (Six Sources Series, part 4) – (Pastor Kris Cervantes & Rabbi Laura Schwartz Harari, Temple Rodeh Sholom) – TBA

Sunday, August 16, 2015: Memories & Memorials (Six Sources Series, part 3) – (Pastor Kris Cervantes & Dr. Candi Cann, Baylor University) – TBA

Sunday, August 9, 2015: Walking in the Footsteps of Giants (Six Sources Series, part 2) – (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, August 2, 2015: Untranslatable I, Divine (Six Sources Series, part 1) – (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

JULY 2015

Sunday, July 26, 2015: Poetry Sunday (special guest speakers Joy Hayes Gates & friends)

Sunday, July 19, 2015: Church for Sale! (Or Maybe Not) – (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, July 12, 2015: Blessed with Idleness (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, July 5, 2015: State of the UUnion: What I Learned at General Assembly (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

JUNE 2015

Sunday, June 28, 2015: A Faith of One’s Own (special guest speaker Lawton Hansen, Brite Seminarian) – file to come

Sunday, June 21, 2015: Summer Solstice Celebration (special guest speaker Judy Shofner)

Sunday, June 14, 2015: A Way with Words: What We Say & Why We Say It (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, June 7, 2015: Small World, Big Dreams (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

MAY 2015

Sunday, May 31, 2015: Encountering Sam Harris’ Waking Up (special guest speaker Brian Gates)

Sunday, May 24, 2015: Immortal and Fathomless as Ourselves (a Memorial Day Reflection) (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, May 17, 2015: If It Was Easy, Everyone Would Do It (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, May 10, 2015: Moms Are Human, Too (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, May 3, 2015: Seeking Not Answers (PDF file; Pastor Kris Cervantes)

APRIL 2015

Sunday, April 26, 2015: Universal Wide Web (special guest speaker D. Scott Cooper, Brite Seminarian)

Sunday, April 19, 2015: Animals Bless Us (PDF file to come; special guest speaker Shari Heino)

Sunday, April 12, 2015: Yom HaShoah & the Web of Life (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, April 5, 2015: Easter Flower Communion service (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

MARCH 2015

Sunday, March 29, 2015: Wheaton’s Law, or How Being a Nerd Might Save Your Life (PDF of sermon text; Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, March 22, 2015: Nonviolence, from Sparta to Selma (PDF file; special guest speaker Jim McKeown)

Sunday, March 15, 2015: To Boldly Go: How I Learned Values in the Star Trek Universe (special guest speaker Judy Shofner; recording pending)

Sunday, March 8, 2015: Selma Sunday: Answering the Call (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

Sunday, March 1, 2015: Messy in the Middle (Pastor Kris Cervantes)

FEBRUARY 2015

Sunday, February 22, 2015: Spiritual Lacunae: Milk Carton Theology (Pastor Kris Cervantes, speaker)

Sunday, February 15, 2015: Share the Love Sunday (Pastor Kris Cervantes, speaker)

Sunday, February 8, 2015: The Gentle Violence of Apathy (Pastor Kris Cervantes, speaker)

Sunday, February 1, 2015: A Shrewd Awakening (The Reverend Chuck Freeman of the Texas Unitarian Universalist Justice Ministry, guest speaker)

JANUARY 2015

Sunday, January 25, 2015: Lovingkindness in the Big Tent (Jane Kittner, speaker)

Sunday, January 18, 2015: The Third Vow: Accept Life as It Is (Pastor Kris Cervantes, speaker)

Sunday, January 11, 2015: The Second Vow: Make the World Better (Pastor Kris Cervantes, speaker)

Sunday, January 4, 2015: The First Vow: Do No Harm (Pastor Kris Cervantes, speaker)